| Named appropriation / budget line (centralized program, org 1603) | Populated | $3,674,793 | FY 2024-25 | Appropriated | The centralized program (AKSDHH, org 1603) is funded through the Anchorage operating budget, not a separate state line; funding follows the enrolled student to the operating district under 4 AAC 33.070 | Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, org 1603; 4 AAC 33.070 | Special Ed Deaf (org 1603): 3,674,793 dollars in fiscal year 2025, reduced to 3,396,338 for fiscal year 2026 (-7.6 percent), on a funded average daily membership of 23.30 and certificated staffing of 10.00 falling to 9.00 full-time equivalents. A separate federal grant line carried 319,000 dollars. |
|---|
| Named appropriation / budget line (district hard of hearing / listening and spoken language program, org 1605) | Populated | $1,290,580 | FY 2024-25 | Appropriated | Anchorage School District Hard of Hearing / Listening and Spoken Language program, org 1605 | Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, org 1605 | 1,290,580 dollars in fiscal year 2025, reduced to 1,192,472 for fiscal year 2026 (-7.6 percent). Combined with org 1603 the deaf-program budget was 4,965,373 dollars falling to 4,588,810. |
|---|
| General formula funding (AS 14.17 foundation formula) | Populated | $5,960 | FY 2024-25 | Enacted | State foundation formula base student allocation per adjusted average daily membership, with a special-needs factor of 1.20 and an intensive-services weighting of 13 times each eligible student; not deaf-specific | AS 14.17; Department School Funding Program Overview; Legislative Finance Citizen's Guide (23-8) | FY 2024-25 (state FY2025) base student allocation 5,960 dollars (set FY2024 from 5,930); HB 57 (2025) raised it to 6,660 dollars effective FY2026. No separate deaf-education line in the formula. |
|---|
| High-cost, low-incidence, or catastrophic aid (statewide low-incidence outreach, SESA; the intensive-services weighting) | Populated | | FY 2026-27; FY 2024-25 not retrieved | Enacted | Special Education Service Agency allocation, funding the statewide Low Incidence Disabilities Outreach Program serving deaf and hard of hearing students; in the formula, the intensive-services weighting of 13 times each eligible student added to adjusted average daily membership | HB 246 (Chapter 45 SLA 26, 2026); AS 14.17; Department School Funding Program Overview (15 September 2025); Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book (intensive-needs count) | The state's only dedicated deaf-education appropriation in the reference window is the SESA allocation, a separate, funded channel from the Anchorage operating budget; its FY 2024-25 amount was not retrieved. The high-cost mechanism in the formula is the intensive-services weighting (13 times each eligible student enrolled on the count date with an established IEP); Anchorage counted 1,120 intensive-needs students for FY 2025-26, 14,560 added to adjusted membership. Neither is deaf-specific. |
|---|
| Special education funding mechanism (AS 14.17 special-needs factor) | Populated | | FY 2024-25 | Enacted | Special education other than intensive services is block funded: the foundation formula multiplies a district's adjusted average daily membership by a special-needs factor of 1.20; not deaf-specific | AS 14.17; Department School Funding Program Overview (15 September 2025); Legislative Finance Citizen's Guide to K-12 Funding (23-8) | No separate deaf-education line in the formula; the factor applies to every district's membership and carries no deaf or hard of hearing count. Anchorage's special education instruction total, general fund, was 99,271,091 dollars for FY 2025-26. |
|---|
| Federal flow-through (the program's federal grant line; IDEA Part B) | Populated | | FY 2024-25 not printed; see series | Appropriated | The Anchorage budget book's federal grant line "Alaska School Deaf & Hard Of Hearing (Fed)"; the state's IDEA Part B award flows through the Department to districts under the formula | Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, federal grant line for the program | The budget book prints the federal line as actuals for 2022 (195,260 dollars), 2023 (102,846) and 2024 (20,894) and a 2026 budget of 319,000 dollars; no FY 2025 column is printed for the line. The state's IDEA Part B and Part C award amounts for the reference year were not retrieved (the instrument is named). |
|---|
| Interagency and tuition mechanisms (4 AAC 33.070) | Populated | | FY 2024-25 | Enacted | Funding for a student enrolled in the centralized program follows the student to the operating district under 4 AAC 33.070; no tuition or residential mechanism is published | 4 AAC 33.070 (the Department's register copy; with 4 AAC 33.080 and 33.090 in the same article) | The mechanism by which a district other than Anchorage pays for a student placed in AKSDHH; no dollar figure is published for it. The program is a day program; no residential mechanism exists. |
|---|
| The market layer | Not applicable | | n/a | Not stated | No private school with a deaf or hard of hearing program and no OPTION Schools member in Alaska; the statewide correspondence and allotment sector carries no deaf-specific offering | The narrative's private sector and market layer sections (the OPTION Schools directory; the correspondence programs read in the closure) | The market layer adds enrollment pathways but no deaf-education capacity; no allotment or charter mechanism was identified that carries a deaf student into a dedicated deaf setting. |
|---|
| Capital | Not published | | n/a | Not stated | No capital line for the centralized program on the instruments read (the Anchorage operating budget book carries org 1603 and 1605 as operating cost centers) | Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book | No capital appropriation naming the program was found in the reference window; none is claimed. |
|---|
| Rights act (unfunded) | Populated | $0 | 2026; no FY 2024-25 appropriation | Enacted | HB 39, rights for public school students who are deaf or hard of hearing, amending AS 14.30.272 and AS 14.30.276 | HB 39 (Chapter 27 SLA 26); two zero fiscal notes prepared by the Department | Adds obligations toward deaf and hard of hearing students without an appropriation; effective 20 September 2026. |
|---|
| Early identification (Part C / EHDI) | Populated | | FY 2024-25; no amount published | Enacted | Universal newborn hearing screening under the Department of Health; insurer coverage of a screen within 30 days of birth; tracking system under AS 47.20.320 | AS 47.20.300 to 47.20.390 (2006, HB 109) | Hearing loss defined as 40 decibels or greater in the speech frequencies; the Part C and EHDI touchpoint. |
|---|