{
    "program": "National Deaf Education Data Index",
    "state": "Alaska",
    "state_number": "02",
    "postal_code": "AK",
    "version": "2.0",
    "released": "2026-10-31",
    "baseline": "SY 2025 (School Year 2024 - 2025)",
    "as_of": "2026-10-31",
    "url": "https://www.ndedi.org/states/ak/v2.0/",
    "doi": "10.5281/zenodo.23323587",
    "publisher": "Novara Consulting Group LLC",
    "summary_terms": "Free summary layer: use with attribution (STD-004 v1.0 section 3).",
    "formulations": {
        "none_found": "NONE FOUND is a statement about publication, not about service delivery.",
        "idea_obligations": "Obligations under IDEA are not evidence of a program."
    },
    "plain_language_summary": "Alaska does not run a separate state school for deaf students. Its school for the deaf is a program inside the Anchorage School District, the Alaska State School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, which teaches in both American Sign Language and spoken and written English and served about 29 students, ages 3 to 21, in early 2025. Anchorage also runs a smaller listening-and-spoken-language program for young children. Four other districts show a deaf program or deaf staff on their websites: Fairbanks, Kenai, Lower Kuskokwim and Mat-Su. Most of Alaska's 54 districts, especially small rural ones, publish nothing about deaf education, which does not prove there is no service, only that the public cannot find one. A statewide agency, SESA, offers outreach for deaf and hard of hearing students, and the Department of Health screens newborns for hearing loss. About 148 students statewide were counted with a hearing impairment on the date used here, and almost none are taught in a separate or residential school. In 2026 Alaska passed a deaf-education rights law, HB 39, with no money attached, and separately funded the SESA outreach agency. In the same period the Anchorage district that runs the state deaf school cut that program's budget by about 8 percent during deep deficits. Alaska requires school interpreters to be certified or training toward it, but its state staffing file does not even list teachers of the deaf, though districts clearly employ them.",
    "frame": {
        "statement": "The frame is the 54 school districts Alaska counts for 2024-25 across three agreeing instruments: the Department's district directory, the federal Common Core of Data 2024-25 local education agency universe, and the 1 October 2024 Child Count by District. Of the 54, 53 are operating (52 regular city, borough and Regional Educational Attendance Area districts plus Mount Edgecumbe, state-operated) and one, Tanana, is carried NOT OPERATING, marked closed in the federal universe for the reference year. Statewide correspondence and homeschool-allotment programs are operated within districts and are not separate units.",
        "frame_count": 54,
        "exhaustive": true,
        "sample_rule": "",
        "class_exclusions": [
            {
                "class": "Statewide correspondence and homeschool-allotment programs",
                "count": 0,
                "basis": "Operated within existing districts, not counted as separate local education agencies; swept for deaf content in the market-layer read and none publishes a deaf-specific offering."
            }
        ],
        "deaf_blind_boundary": "Deaf-blindness is carried where the federal Section 618 file names it: the state count is 1 for 2024-25. No separate National Deaf-Blind Child Count reconciliation is attempted; the single federal cell is recorded as published.",
        "readable_subset": 54,
        "weak_evidence_count": 0
    },
    "normalizations_in_force": [
        "An IDEA Child Find or Section 504 eligibility list naming deafness or hearing impairment (Aleutian Region, Northwest Arctic, Valdez, Kodiak Island) is coded MENTION under the definition-only normalization, not a program.",
        "A link to the statewide Special Education Service Agency or to Stone Soup as a family resource (Bering Strait, Dillingham, Iditarod, Nome) is coded MENTION with the provider named, under the undifferentiated-outside-agency normalization.",
        "A Types of Services Provided menu listing deaf and hard of hearing and sign language without staff or classroom (Copper River) is coded MENTION with a standing option to reconsider as weak PROGRAM.",
        "A student-services list naming hearing or vision difficulties (Haines) and a free hearing-and-vision screening advertisement (Hoonah) are coded MENTION, not a program.",
        "A keyword artifact, the word hearing inside a quotation about hearing Inupiaq teachers (North Slope), is cleared and the unit stays NONE FOUND.",
        "The three units reduced from v1.0 PROGRAM to NONE FOUND (Alaska Gateway, Galena, Juneau) returned no deaf or hard of hearing reference across two rendered attempts on two calendar days; the owner directed they hold as NONE FOUND because a program off the public web is a certain blocker to the public and a public index codes what the public can find.",
        "NONE FOUND is a statement about publication, not about service delivery; a suppressed child-count cell is kept as the state suppression, never filled."
    ],
    "method_limitations": "Five limitations bound this run. Most by-district hearing-impairment cells are suppressed by the state, so no per-district deaf count is published and the publication measure other files compute is unsupported for Alaska. The AKSDHH dollar line is read from the Anchorage School District budget book rather than a separate state appropriation line, because the centralized program is funded through one district operating budget under 4 AAC 33.070. The three units reduced from v1.0 PROGRAM to NONE FOUND rest on the absence of any public deaf reference across two rendered attempts, adjudicated by the owner as a publication finding, not on a claim that no service exists. The CDC Early Hearing Detection and Intervention survey cell for Alaska was not extracted, upstream of the K-12 frame. The AS 14.07.030 and AS 14.07.060 board and department powers and the AS 14.30.350 definitions were not separately quoted; the operative deaf-education provisions beside them were read, and the internet-archive availability lookup over the sources was emitted but completed only in part because archive.org rate-limited the single-device queries, a non-blocking step under SRC-003.",
    "tallies_by_code": [
        {
            "code": "PROGRAM",
            "count": 5,
            "percent_of_frame": 9.3,
            "percent_of_readable": 9.3
        },
        {
            "code": "MENTION",
            "count": 11,
            "percent_of_frame": 20.4,
            "percent_of_readable": 20.4
        },
        {
            "code": "NONE FOUND",
            "count": 37,
            "percent_of_frame": 68.5,
            "percent_of_readable": 68.5
        },
        {
            "code": "NOT VERIFIABLE",
            "count": 0,
            "percent_of_frame": 0,
            "percent_of_readable": null
        },
        {
            "code": "NOT AUDITED",
            "count": 0,
            "percent_of_frame": 0,
            "percent_of_readable": null
        },
        {
            "code": "OUT OF FRAME",
            "count": 0,
            "percent_of_frame": 0,
            "percent_of_readable": 0
        },
        {
            "code": "NOT OPERATING",
            "count": 1,
            "percent_of_frame": 1.9,
            "percent_of_readable": 1.9
        }
    ],
    "tallies_by_type": [
        {
            "agency_type": "regular district",
            "code": "PROGRAM",
            "count": 5
        },
        {
            "agency_type": "regular district",
            "code": "MENTION",
            "count": 11
        },
        {
            "agency_type": "regular district",
            "code": "NONE FOUND",
            "count": 36
        },
        {
            "agency_type": "regular district",
            "code": "NOT OPERATING",
            "count": 1
        },
        {
            "agency_type": "state-operated school",
            "code": "NONE FOUND",
            "count": 1
        }
    ],
    "operator_silence": [
        {
            "provider": "Special Education Service Agency (SESA)",
            "provider_names_count": null,
            "agencies_naming_provider_count": 4,
            "affirmative_list": [
                "AK-07 Bering Strait School District",
                "AK-15 Dillingham City School District",
                "AK-21 Iditarod Area School District",
                "AK-35 Nome Public Schools"
            ]
        }
    ],
    "publication_against_identified_population": {
        "supported": false,
        "identified_population": {
            "value": "148 students with a hearing impairment as a primary disability statewide, 1 October 2024 Child Count (baseline, D-032); 134 on 1 October 2025",
            "year": "2024-10-01",
            "source_n": 1,
            "note": "Among 20,578 students with disabilities (20,500 in 2025-26). The federal Section 618 file resolves the 148 as 138 school-age plus 10 ages 3 to 5, with 1 deaf-blind."
        },
        "published_programme_capacity": {
            "value": "not published at unit level",
            "year": "2024-10-01",
            "source_n": 1,
            "note": "Alaska publishes the hearing-impairment category only to a statewide total; the Child Count by District suppresses small cells, so no per-district deaf count is available. The measure is unsupported for Alaska, unlike Nevada."
        },
        "note": "Alaska does not publish a per-district hearing-impairment count the public can use, so the publication measure other files compute cannot be computed here. This is itself a finding about what the state does not measure."
    },
    "indicators": [
        {
            "indicator": "Placement criteria and IEP communication considerations",
            "figure": {
                "value": "under AS 14.30.276 a child with a disability is educated with non-disabled children to the maximum extent appropriate, with removal to a separate setting only where the severity makes regular classes with supplementary aids and services unsatisfactory; HB 39 adds to AS 14.30.272 a duty to inform the parent of a deaf or hard of hearing child across communication methods and to provide services in the method the parent chooses",
                "year": "2026",
                "source_n": 6,
                "note": "AS 14.30.276 (least restrictive environment) and AS 14.30.272 as amended by HB 39 (Chapter 27 SLA 26)."
            }
        },
        {
            "indicator": "Educational environments, hearing impairment (by category)",
            "figure": {
                "value": "of 138 school-age students with a hearing impairment in SY 2024-25: 93 in a regular class 80 percent or more of the day, 28 at 40 to 79 percent, 16 at less than 40 percent, 1 in a separate school, 0 in a residential facility; 10 students ages 3 to 5",
                "year": "2024-25",
                "source_n": 2,
                "note": "Federal IDEA Section 618 2024-25; the state 2024-25 least restrictive environment tables carry the same school-age bands (93/28/16 to 138) and resolve the separate-school and residential cells the state suppresses. The 2025-26 state tables carry 95/21/13 to 130."
            }
        },
        {
            "indicator": "Deaf and hard of hearing parent-information and communication-choice rights",
            "figure": {
                "value": "HB 39 adds to AS 14.30.272 a district duty to give the parent of a deaf or hard of hearing child comprehensive, neutral and unbiased information on hearing technology and communication methods, the parent choice of communication method, delivery by trained professionals, and statutory definitions of the bilingual approach, cued speech, listening and spoken language and total communication; and adds to AS 14.30.276 a department duty to support one or more programs for the deaf with residential-services authority",
                "year": "2026",
                "source_n": 6,
                "note": "Chapter 27 SLA 26, effective 20 September 2026; passed House 40 to 0 and Senate 20 to 0; two zero fiscal notes (source 7)."
            }
        },
        {
            "indicator": "Educational interpreter standard",
            "figure": {
                "value": "an interpreter for a deaf child must be certified by the National Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, or enrolled and progressing in a program meeting the Board of Education's Advisory Board for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing standards",
                "year": "2026",
                "source_n": 9,
                "note": "4 AAC 52.255; a certification-or-progressing-enrollment bar, not an Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment score threshold, unlike many states."
            }
        },
        {
            "indicator": "Teacher-of-the-deaf category in the state personnel file",
            "figure": {
                "value": "the state Part B personnel file for 2024-25 carries no teacher-of-the-deaf category, though districts plainly employ teachers of the deaf (Lower Kuskokwim and Matanuska-Susitna name the role)",
                "year": "2024-25",
                "source_n": 1,
                "note": "A gap between a state instrument that sees no such category and districts that staff it; carried as an unresolved conflict."
            }
        },
        {
            "indicator": "Identified population by agency (baseline)",
            "figure": {
                "value": "no per-district hearing-impairment count is published the public can use; the Child Count by District carries the category to a statewide total of 148 (1 October 2024) with small cells suppressed",
                "year": "2024-10-01",
                "source_n": 1,
                "note": "Unlike Nevada, Alaska does not publish the count at unit level."
            }
        }
    ],
    "identified_population_series": [
        {
            "year": "2024-10-01",
            "identified_hi": 148,
            "identified_db": 1,
            "source_n": 1
        },
        {
            "year": "2025-10-01",
            "identified_hi": 134,
            "identified_db": null,
            "source_n": 1
        }
    ],
    "fiscal": [
        {
            "channel": "Named appropriation / budget line (centralized program, org 1603)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": 3674793,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "appropriated",
            "instrument": "The centralized program (AKSDHH, org 1603) is funded through the Anchorage operating budget, not a separate state line; funding follows the enrolled student to the operating district under 4 AAC 33.070",
            "citation": "Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, org 1603; 4 AAC 33.070",
            "note": "Special Ed Deaf (org 1603): 3,674,793 dollars in fiscal year 2025, reduced to 3,396,338 for fiscal year 2026 (-7.6 percent), on a funded average daily membership of 23.30 and certificated staffing of 10.00 falling to 9.00 full-time equivalents. A separate federal grant line carried 319,000 dollars.",
            "series": [
                {
                    "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
                    "amount": 3674793,
                    "basis": "ADOPTED 2025 column (the headline year under D-075)"
                },
                {
                    "fiscal_year": "FY 2025-26",
                    "amount": 3396338,
                    "basis": "PRELIMINARY 2026 column"
                }
            ]
        },
        {
            "channel": "Named appropriation / budget line (district hard of hearing / listening and spoken language program, org 1605)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": 1290580,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "appropriated",
            "instrument": "Anchorage School District Hard of Hearing / Listening and Spoken Language program, org 1605",
            "citation": "Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, org 1605",
            "note": "1,290,580 dollars in fiscal year 2025, reduced to 1,192,472 for fiscal year 2026 (-7.6 percent). Combined with org 1603 the deaf-program budget was 4,965,373 dollars falling to 4,588,810.",
            "series": [
                {
                    "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
                    "amount": 1290580,
                    "basis": "ADOPTED 2025 column (the headline year under D-075)"
                },
                {
                    "fiscal_year": "FY 2025-26",
                    "amount": 1192472,
                    "basis": "PRELIMINARY 2026 column"
                }
            ]
        },
        {
            "channel": "General formula funding (AS 14.17 foundation formula)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": 5960,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "enacted",
            "instrument": "State foundation formula base student allocation per adjusted average daily membership, with a special-needs factor of 1.20 and an intensive-services weighting of 13 times each eligible student; not deaf-specific",
            "citation": "AS 14.17; Department School Funding Program Overview; Legislative Finance Citizen's Guide (23-8)",
            "note": "FY 2024-25 (state FY2025) base student allocation 5,960 dollars (set FY2024 from 5,930); HB 57 (2025) raised it to 6,660 dollars effective FY2026. No separate deaf-education line in the formula."
        },
        {
            "channel": "High-cost, low-incidence, or catastrophic aid (statewide low-incidence outreach, SESA; the intensive-services weighting)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2026-27; FY 2024-25 not retrieved",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "enacted",
            "instrument": "Special Education Service Agency allocation, funding the statewide Low Incidence Disabilities Outreach Program serving deaf and hard of hearing students; in the formula, the intensive-services weighting of 13 times each eligible student added to adjusted average daily membership",
            "citation": "HB 246 (Chapter 45 SLA 26, 2026); AS 14.17; Department School Funding Program Overview (15 September 2025); Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book (intensive-needs count)",
            "note": "The state's only dedicated deaf-education appropriation in the reference window is the SESA allocation, a separate, funded channel from the Anchorage operating budget; its FY 2024-25 amount was not retrieved. The high-cost mechanism in the formula is the intensive-services weighting (13 times each eligible student enrolled on the count date with an established IEP); Anchorage counted 1,120 intensive-needs students for FY 2025-26, 14,560 added to adjusted membership. Neither is deaf-specific."
        },
        {
            "channel": "Special education funding mechanism (AS 14.17 special-needs factor)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "enacted",
            "instrument": "Special education other than intensive services is block funded: the foundation formula multiplies a district's adjusted average daily membership by a special-needs factor of 1.20; not deaf-specific",
            "citation": "AS 14.17; Department School Funding Program Overview (15 September 2025); Legislative Finance Citizen's Guide to K-12 Funding (23-8)",
            "note": "No separate deaf-education line in the formula; the factor applies to every district's membership and carries no deaf or hard of hearing count. Anchorage's special education instruction total, general fund, was 99,271,091 dollars for FY 2025-26."
        },
        {
            "channel": "Federal flow-through (the program's federal grant line; IDEA Part B)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25 not printed; see series",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "appropriated",
            "instrument": "The Anchorage budget book's federal grant line \"Alaska School Deaf & Hard Of Hearing (Fed)\"; the state's IDEA Part B award flows through the Department to districts under the formula",
            "citation": "Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, federal grant line for the program",
            "note": "The budget book prints the federal line as actuals for 2022 (195,260 dollars), 2023 (102,846) and 2024 (20,894) and a 2026 budget of 319,000 dollars; no FY 2025 column is printed for the line. The state's IDEA Part B and Part C award amounts for the reference year were not retrieved (the instrument is named).",
            "series": [
                {
                    "fiscal_year": "FY 2023-24",
                    "amount": 20894,
                    "basis": "2024 actual column"
                },
                {
                    "fiscal_year": "FY 2025-26",
                    "amount": 319000,
                    "basis": "2026 column"
                }
            ]
        },
        {
            "channel": "Interagency and tuition mechanisms (4 AAC 33.070)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "enacted",
            "instrument": "Funding for a student enrolled in the centralized program follows the student to the operating district under 4 AAC 33.070; no tuition or residential mechanism is published",
            "citation": "4 AAC 33.070 (the Department's register copy; with 4 AAC 33.080 and 33.090 in the same article)",
            "note": "The mechanism by which a district other than Anchorage pays for a student placed in AKSDHH; no dollar figure is published for it. The program is a day program; no residential mechanism exists."
        },
        {
            "channel": "The market layer",
            "status": "not applicable",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "n/a",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "not stated",
            "instrument": "No private school with a deaf or hard of hearing program and no OPTION Schools member in Alaska; the statewide correspondence and allotment sector carries no deaf-specific offering",
            "citation": "The narrative's private sector and market layer sections (the OPTION Schools directory; the correspondence programs read in the closure)",
            "note": "The market layer adds enrollment pathways but no deaf-education capacity; no allotment or charter mechanism was identified that carries a deaf student into a dedicated deaf setting."
        },
        {
            "channel": "Capital",
            "status": "not published",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "n/a",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "not stated",
            "instrument": "No capital line for the centralized program on the instruments read (the Anchorage operating budget book carries org 1603 and 1605 as operating cost centers)",
            "citation": "Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book",
            "note": "No capital appropriation naming the program was found in the reference window; none is claimed."
        },
        {
            "channel": "Rights act (unfunded)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": 0,
            "fiscal_year": "2026; no FY 2024-25 appropriation",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "enacted",
            "instrument": "HB 39, rights for public school students who are deaf or hard of hearing, amending AS 14.30.272 and AS 14.30.276",
            "citation": "HB 39 (Chapter 27 SLA 26); two zero fiscal notes prepared by the Department",
            "note": "Adds obligations toward deaf and hard of hearing students without an appropriation; effective 20 September 2026."
        },
        {
            "channel": "Early identification (Part C / EHDI)",
            "status": "populated",
            "amount": null,
            "fiscal_year": "FY 2024-25; no amount published",
            "enacted_or_appropriated": "enacted",
            "instrument": "Universal newborn hearing screening under the Department of Health; insurer coverage of a screen within 30 days of birth; tracking system under AS 47.20.320",
            "citation": "AS 47.20.300 to 47.20.390 (2006, HB 109)",
            "note": "Hearing loss defined as 40 decibels or greater in the speech frequencies; the Part C and EHDI touchpoint."
        }
    ],
    "workforce": [
        {
            "item": "Educational interpreter qualification required in K-12",
            "status": "published",
            "figure": {
                "value": "an interpreter for a deaf child must be certified by the National Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, or enrolled and progressing in a program meeting the Board of Education's Advisory Board for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing standards",
                "year": "2026",
                "source_n": 9,
                "note": "4 AAC 52.255. Not an Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment score threshold."
            }
        },
        {
            "item": "State educational interpreters (Part B personnel)",
            "status": "published",
            "figure": {
                "value": "3.38 full-time-equivalent interpreters, all fully certified",
                "year": "2024-25",
                "source_n": 1,
                "note": "State Part B personnel file."
            }
        },
        {
            "item": "State educational audiologists (Part B personnel)",
            "status": "published",
            "figure": {
                "value": "10.9 full-time-equivalent educational audiologists",
                "year": "2024-25",
                "source_n": 1,
                "note": "State Part B personnel file."
            }
        },
        {
            "item": "Teacher-of-the-deaf category in the state personnel file",
            "status": "published",
            "figure": {
                "value": "no teacher-of-the-deaf category is carried, though districts employ teachers of the deaf (Lower Kuskokwim, Matanuska-Susitna)",
                "year": "2024-25",
                "source_n": 1,
                "note": "A gap carried as an unresolved conflict."
            }
        },
        {
            "item": "Centralized-school staffing (AKSDHH, org 1603)",
            "status": "published",
            "figure": {
                "value": "certificated staffing fell from 10.00 to 9.00 full-time equivalents, holding nine special-service teachers and eliminating one other certificated position; non-certificated salaries down 13.4 percent",
                "year": "2024-25",
                "source_n": 12,
                "note": "Anchorage FY26 budget book; the preliminary FY2026 budget reduced the program by about 4.63 full-time equivalents."
            }
        }
    ],
    "schools_programs_directory": [
        {
            "id": "AK-001",
            "entity_name": "Alaska State School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AKSDHH)",
            "entity_type": "Centralized state program operated by a school district",
            "operating_authority": "4 AAC 33.070 (centralized program operated by a district; funding follows the student to the operating district; the placing district keeps its special education duty); statutory parent AS 14.30.276(b) via HB 39; operated by the Anchorage School District",
            "city": "Anchorage",
            "county": "Anchorage",
            "educational_setting": "Day program within the Anchorage School District special education division; not a separate state institution and not residential"
        },
        {
            "id": "AK-002",
            "entity_name": "Anchorage School District Hard of Hearing / Listening and Spoken Language Program (org 1605)",
            "entity_type": "District program",
            "operating_authority": "Anchorage School District special education; carried in the district budget as organization 1605",
            "city": "Anchorage",
            "county": "Anchorage",
            "educational_setting": "District classrooms; listening and spoken language instruction"
        },
        {
            "id": "AK-003",
            "entity_name": "Mount Edgecumbe High School (clarification; not a deaf program)",
            "entity_type": "State-operated boarding school (not a deaf program)",
            "operating_authority": "State-operated statewide residential college-preparatory boarding high school; admission under 4 AAC 33.080",
            "city": "Sitka",
            "county": "Sitka",
            "educational_setting": "Residential boarding"
        },
        {
            "id": "AK-004",
            "entity_name": "Special Education Service Agency (SESA), Low Incidence Disabilities Outreach Program",
            "entity_type": "Statewide outreach agency",
            "operating_authority": "Statewide special education service agency; its allocation set by HB 246 (Chapter 45 SLA 26, 2026)",
            "city": "Anchorage",
            "county": "Anchorage",
            "educational_setting": "Itinerant consultation and support to districts, not a school"
        }
    ],
    "disclosure": {
        "relationships": [],
        "statement": "Novara Consulting Group LLC, the publisher of the Index, has no financial, partnership or funding relationship with any Alaska body named in this file. The Alaska Deaf Council, the Anchorage School District, the Department of Education and Early Development, the Special Education Service Agency with the Governor's Council on Disabilities and Special Education, the Department of Health and Hope Community Resources are noticed under STD-005 on the same terms as every other body, with no editorial input.",
        "compiled": "2026-10-31"
    },
    "notice": {
        "applies": true,
        "recipients": [
            {
                "body": "Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, Special Education",
                "route_used": "donald.enoch@alaska.gov (the Special Education office's published address); sent 16 October 2026, 19:19 AKDT; the window closed 30 October 2026; no response, no route failure"
            },
            {
                "body": "Anchorage School District, as operator of AKSDHH",
                "route_used": "Officeofthesuperintendent@asdk12.org (the district's published superintendent's office address); sent 16 October 2026, 19:19 AKDT; the window closed 30 October 2026; no response, no route failure"
            },
            {
                "body": "Special Education Service Agency (SESA), with the Governor's Council on Disabilities and Special Education",
                "route_used": "sesa@sesa.org (the agency's published address; the owner's choice of 12 October 2026; the Governor's Council, GCDSE@alaska.gov, by the owner's forward); sent 16 October 2026, 19:19 AKDT; the window closed 30 October 2026; no response, no route failure"
            },
            {
                "body": "Alaska Department of Health, Newborn Hearing Screening (Part C / EHDI)",
                "route_used": "doh.info@alaska.gov (the department's published address); sent 16 October 2026, 19:19 AKDT; the window closed 30 October 2026; no response, no route failure"
            },
            {
                "body": "Alaska Deaf Council",
                "route_used": "community@akdeafcouncil.org (the Council's own address, decoded from its page's protected link); sent 16 October 2026, 19:19 AKDT; the window closed 30 October 2026; no response, no route failure"
            },
            {
                "body": "Hope Community Resources, Deaf and Hard of Hearing Supports (second hard-of-hearing organization under D-071)",
                "route_used": "info@hopealaska.org (the organization's published address; the owner, 16 October 2026: 'info@ is fine'; Michael Merritt and Sharon Miranda by the owner's forward); sent 16 October 2026, 19:19 AKDT; the window closed 30 October 2026; no response, no route failure"
            }
        ],
        "sent": "2026-10-16",
        "window_closed": "2026-10-30",
        "responses": [],
        "reason": "Notice under STD-005 and D-044 went to the six bodies above, with a ten business day window in Alaska time. Under D-071 the Alaska Deaf Council is the recognized consumer organization and, on the owner's direction of 12 October 2026, Hope Community Resources is the second hard-of-hearing-serving organization, no Alaska chapter of the Hearing Loss Association of America having been found. The addresses were read from each body's own published page (02_Alaska_notice_address_table_2026-10-12) and recorded on the site's register; the LOG-004 rows R-2026-045 to R-2026-055 were entered before the sends (D-068). The message before the notice went blind to all six at 19:07 AKDT on 16 October 2026 and the six notices followed at 19:19 (register 12, ids 99 to 104). The window closed on 30 October 2026. No body responded and no route failed; the file is released as noticed. Copies to the Governor's Council and Hope's named contacts are the owner's to forward, not recorded as sent."
    },
    "contact_of_record": {
        "mailbox": "notice@ndedi.org",
        "postal": "Novara Consulting Group LLC, 18140 Zane St NW #159, Elk River, MN 55330"
    },
    "changelog": [
        {
            "version": "1.0",
            "date": "2026-08-13",
            "change": "Initial compilation of the narrative profile and workbook.",
            "cause": "first release"
        },
        {
            "version": "1.0",
            "date": "2026-08-21",
            "change": "Closed all six NOT VERIFIABLE district codes; replaced October 2017 child count and LRE figures with October 2024 and 2024-25 figures from DEED's Section 618 workbooks; added a statewide Part B personnel finding of 3.38 FTE educational interpreters; added each agency's Hearing Impaired child count to the District Coverage sheet; recoded Tanana City as NOT OPERATING following its absorption into the Yukon-Koyukuk REAA; confirmed HB 39 and HB 246 both enacted; strengthened the evidence caveats on Juneau and Alaska Gateway; withdrew the HB 39 fiscal note figure of $6,000.",
            "cause": "correction"
        },
        {
            "version": "2.0",
            "date": "2026-10-31",
            "change": "Rebuilt to the v2.0 standard. Frame re-verified at 54 units, with Mount Edgecumbe carried as a listed state-operated unit rather than excluded. All 53 operating units re-read in a rendered browser across two attempts on two calendar days and recoded to 5 PROGRAM, 11 MENTION, 37 NONE FOUND and 1 NOT OPERATING: three v1.0 PROGRAM units (Alaska Gateway, Galena, Juneau) reduced to NONE FOUND on the owner's recorded decision that information not publicly present is a certain blocker to the public, and four units (Hoonah, Iditarod, Northwest Arctic, Valdez) raised to MENTION under a consistency rule; the North Slope keyword artifact was cleared. Rebuilt the fiscal record to reference-year dollars from the Anchorage FY26 budget book, and the governance, early-intervention, interpreter-credentialing and private and market reads (HB 39 against AS 14.30.272 and 14.30.276, AS 47.20.300-.390, 4 AAC 52.255). Re-assembled on 17 October 2026 before notice, no figure changed: the narrative in the STD-002 v1.2 section order with the plain-language, workforce and notice sections drawn from the data modules and Annex A appended; the workbook by the standard eight-sheet builder; the fiscal headline labeled FY 2024-25 under D-075 (state fiscal year 2025) with FY 2025-26 beside it; U.S. spelling throughout. Noticed 16 October 2026 (six bodies; no response); released 31 October 2026.",
            "cause": "re-audit"
        }
    ],
    "checks": {
        "release_checklist_version": "1.4",
        "passed": true,
        "run_date": "2026-10-17",
        "reconciliation_output_file": "02_Alaska_reconciliation_output_v2.0_2026-10-31.txt",
        "em_dash_count": 0,
        "ledger_run_ids": [
            "R-2026-10-12-01",
            "R-2026-10-12-02",
            "R-2026-10-12-03",
            "R-2026-10-12-04"
        ],
        "custody": {
            "evidence_manifest_files": 325,
            "evidence_manifest_check": "pass",
            "archive_snapshot_found": 89,
            "archive_no_snapshot": 40,
            "archive_lookup_failed": 0
        },
        "report_checks_file": "02_Alaska_report_checks_2026-10-31.txt",
        "uk_spelling_count": 0
    },
    "deposit": {
        "repository": "zenodo",
        "doi": "10.5281/zenodo.23323587",
        "concept_doi": "10.5281/zenodo.23323586",
        "record_url": "https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23323587",
        "deposited": "2026-10-12",
        "licence": "Summary layer under the free terms; the licensed files are restricted on the record (STD-004 v1.0 section 3)",
        "files_restricted": true
    },
    "sources": [
        {
            "n": 1,
            "title": "Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, Section 618 data: Child Count by District and by Age, least restrictive environment, and Part B personnel, 2024-25 and 2025-26 (1 October 2024 count is the baseline, D-032)",
            "url": "https://education.alaska.gov/sped/618data",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "browser same-origin fetch / pdf.js of the Department workbooks"
        },
        {
            "n": 2,
            "title": "U.S. Department of Education, IDEA Section 618, Part B child count and educational environments, Alaska, SY 2024-25 (hearing-impairment cells sum to 148, tying the state count)",
            "url": "https://data.ed.gov/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "browser same-origin fetch (CKAN)"
        },
        {
            "n": 3,
            "title": "U.S. Department of Education, Common Core of Data, 2024-25 local education agency universe, Alaska",
            "url": "https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "browser same-origin fetch"
        },
        {
            "n": 4,
            "title": "Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, district directory (Alaska Public Schools Database)",
            "url": "https://education.alaska.gov/DOE_Rolodex/SchoolCalendar/Home/Districts",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "browser same-origin fetch"
        },
        {
            "n": 5,
            "title": "4 AAC 33.070, Alaska school for the deaf (centralized program operated by a district; funding to the operating district), filed regulation PDF from the Department register (byte hash fd15389044ff4ef1c3d675a3e61f995dac891c4f6c6e5e775e37ff1e5d9adc7c)",
            "url": "https://education.alaska.gov/regs/filed/4AAC_33.070.pdf",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch + same-origin byte hash"
        },
        {
            "n": 6,
            "title": "Alaska Statutes AS 14.30.272 (procedural safeguards) and AS 14.30.276 (least restrictive environment), codified 2025, read against the enacted text of HB 39",
            "url": "https://law.justia.com/codes/alaska/title-14/chapter-30/article-5/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch (WebFetch)"
        },
        {
            "n": 7,
            "title": "Alaska Legislature, HB 39 (Chapter 27 SLA 26, effective 20 September 2026) and HB 246 (Chapter 45 SLA 26), 34th Legislature, bill history and enacted text",
            "url": "https://www.akleg.gov/basis/Bill/Detail/34?Root=HB39",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "rendered browser capture (AKC_HB39-34, AKC_HB246-34)"
        },
        {
            "n": 8,
            "title": "Alaska universal newborn hearing screening law, AS 47.20.300 to 47.20.390 (2006, HB 109), administered by the Department of Health (hearing loss defined as 40 decibels or greater)",
            "url": "https://infanthearing.org/legislative/summary/alaska.html",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch (NCHAM summary of the statute)"
        },
        {
            "n": 9,
            "title": "4 AAC 52.255, educational interpreter standard for a child who is deaf (RID certification or progressing enrollment in an Advisory Board-approved program)",
            "url": "https://regulations.justia.com/states/alaska/title-4/chapter-52/article-2/section-4-aac-52-255",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch (WebFetch)"
        },
        {
            "n": 10,
            "title": "AS 14.17 foundation funding formula and the Department School Funding Program Overview (base student allocation, special-needs factor 1.20, intensive-services weighting times 13)",
            "url": "https://education.alaska.gov/SchoolFinance/pdf/2025-09-15_Guidance_School-Funding-Program-Overview.pdf",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch (WebFetch)"
        },
        {
            "n": 11,
            "title": "Legislative Finance Division, Citizen's Guide to K-12 Funding in Alaska (paper 23-8): base student allocation 5,930 dollars FY2017-FY2023, 5,960 dollars from FY2024",
            "url": "https://www.legfin.akleg.gov/InformationalPapers/23-8CitizensGuideToK12.pdf",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch (WebFetch)"
        },
        {
            "n": 12,
            "title": "Anchorage School District 2025-26 Preliminary Budget Book, General Fund (orgs 1603 Special Ed Deaf and 1605 Hard of Hearing; ADOPTED 2025 column is the reference year; byte hash d0ef896ab46cdc54dafea681c27c6c833812c770828d222c7d1e1fd0ad492e64)",
            "url": "https://www.asdk12.org/budget",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch + same-origin byte hash; custody 04_Verification/fiscal_2026-10-12"
        },
        {
            "n": 13,
            "title": "Alaska State School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AKSDHH) and Anchorage School District special education pages",
            "url": "https://aksdhh.asdk12.org/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "rendered browser capture"
        },
        {
            "n": 14,
            "title": "Special Education Service Agency (SESA), Low Incidence Disabilities Outreach Program",
            "url": "https://sesa.org/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "rendered browser capture"
        },
        {
            "n": 15,
            "title": "Alaska Department of Health, Universal Newborn Hearing Screening program",
            "url": "https://health.alaska.gov/en/services/newborn-hearing-screening/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-11",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch"
        },
        {
            "n": 16,
            "title": "Anchorage Daily News and Alaska's News Source, Anchorage School District budget reporting, 2025 and 2026 (FY2025-26 deficit 111 million dollars; FY2027 budget passed 24 February 2026; deaf-program staff reductions)",
            "url": "https://www.adn.com/alaska-news/education/",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "harness fetch (WebFetch)"
        },
        {
            "n": 17,
            "title": "Rendered-browser closure reads of the 53 operating Alaska units across two attempts (11 and 12 October 2026), with the SRC-003 two-file custody split for the 16 units whose code rests on page content",
            "url": "https://education.alaska.gov/DOE_Rolodex/SchoolCalendar/Home/Districts",
            "access_date": "2026-10-12",
            "retrieval_method": "rendered browser (Chrome extension on the owner's machine), keyword-screen probe v2"
        }
    ],
    "archive_status": [
        {
            "n": 1,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 2,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 3,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 4,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 5,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 6,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 7,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 8,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 9,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 10,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 11,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 12,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 13,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 14,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 15,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 16,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        },
        {
            "n": 17,
            "status": "NO SNAPSHOT",
            "archive_url": "",
            "archive_timestamp": ""
        }
    ],
    "records_requests": [
        {
            "gap": "Who serves deaf pupils in the districts that publish nothing",
            "instrument_requested": "the delivery arrangement (a program, itinerant service, SESA outreach, contract or placement) for deaf pupils in the 37 districts coded NONE FOUND",
            "route": "direct inquiry to the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, and to SESA",
            "identifier": "",
            "sent": "",
            "status": "not sent",
            "source_n": 1
        },
        {
            "gap": "Board and department powers and the special-education definitions",
            "instrument_requested": "the text of AS 14.07.030 and AS 14.07.060 (the authority 4 AAC 33.070 rests on) and AS 14.30.350 (definitions)",
            "route": "Alaska Legislature statute browser",
            "identifier": "",
            "sent": "",
            "status": "not sent",
            "source_n": 6
        },
        {
            "gap": "Early-identification survey cell",
            "instrument_requested": "the CDC Early Hearing Detection and Intervention survey row for Alaska for the reference year",
            "route": "CDC EHDI-HSFS",
            "identifier": "",
            "sent": "",
            "status": "not sent",
            "source_n": 8
        },
        {
            "gap": "v1.0 basis for the three reduced PROGRAM units",
            "instrument_requested": "the v1.0 per-unit evidence that coded Alaska Gateway, Galena and Juneau PROGRAM (record only; the downgrades are settled)",
            "route": "internal v1.0 record",
            "identifier": "",
            "sent": "",
            "status": "not sent",
            "source_n": 17
        }
    ]
}